top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMinion of Berk

Jungle of Despair - Birds, Azata & Dungeon Dressing

Let’s move on to the birds. Pathfinder has given us many things that make sets better over the tradition D&D model. Rarity / distribution being geared to how you use the minis, warbands of like looking creatures, dungeon dressing, NPC types, and a wonderful set of birds (actually, I think I really have to credit Greyhaze and his Dungeon Crawler Raven for the initially getting the ball rolling). The Vulture and Eagle in this set make it possible to sport so many different birds in the game, whether as familiars or nuisances. Both these birds will be greedily sucked up into my collection.

The list grows.




And then there are the outsiders. That’s some bow the Azata Wilder is fielding. It reminds me of the bows I see in Olympic competitions. The Wilder paint job is a little lackluster, especially when compared to the Knight, but the difference in rarity certain justifies it.


One of the things I was looking forward to the most in this set was the Apparatus of the Octopus. A variation on the Apparatus of Kwalish, it offers some great roleplaying opportunities. The other dungeon dressing were fine, they just didn’t stand out to me as exciting as the Apparatus was. All are pretty decent, and, I got one more piece than I was expecting. In the past we have usually gotten six pieces with two duplicate. This time I got six pieces with three duplicates. I know there are two camps on accessories in sets, but I am OK with getting a few extras. Most of the time there are so few pieces in the set that demand drives secondary market prices into the sticker shock range.


64 views0 comments
bottom of page